President’s Prize for Innovation in Honour of the Memory of Josephine (Jo) Rogers, AM

This award is to recognise innovation in any of its forms honouring Josephine Rogers. One award may be presented annually.

2021 – Kara Landau

2017 – Clare Collins

2016 – Alice Gibson

2015 – Rachel Bacon

2014 – Kim Tikellis

2013 – Lana Hebden, Margaret Allman-Farinelli, Kate Balestracci, Amelia Cook

2012 – Melina Katz, Liz Beavis

2011 – Penny Small

2010 – Sue Radd

2009 -Merrilyn Banks, Judy Bauer, Maree Ferguson and Sandra Capra

2008 – Julie Dundon and Anne Schneyder

2007 – Roy Price

2006 – Amanda Clark

2005 – Trudy Williams

2004 – Ingrid Hickman

2002 – Louise Smith

2000 – Catherine Saxelby

1999 – Martina Chippindall

1998 – Heather Gilbertson

PEN Evidence Based Practice Prize

PEN Evidence-Based Practice Prize for demonstrating strength and commitment to evidence-based practice in their practice setting, particularly in challenging circumstances.

Tayla Robertson

Tayla Roberston was awarded the 2018 PEN Prize for her project on Enhanced Recovery After Surgery (ERAS).

Tayla, a clinical dietitian, was awarded the prize for her work in her hospital on Enhanced Recovery After Surgery. Tayla identified a delay in postoperative feeding in some colorectal surgical patients in her workplace, inconsistent with best-practice. Her project has been working on improving this through identifying barriers to implementing early feeding among postoperative colorectal patients. Resulting from this work, Tayla aims to implement a sustainable clinical pathway for diet upgrades in her workplace. Tayla’s application clearly demonstrates her commitment to applying the evidence-base in practice to ultimately improve outcomes for patients. We look forward to hearing more about her progress in the future.








Sarah Anderson

Sarah was awarded the 2017 PEN Prize for her project evaluating the nutrition support protocol for stem cell transplant patients at her workplace.

Sarah identified the lack of a consistent, multidisciplinary approach to nutrition support in the stem cell unit – and that this was an area that could be improved. The project begun with a review of the literature, then the evidence base was compared with the current protocols and practice at Sarah’s workplace to identify gaps and future improvements.

New nutrition support protocols were developed, implemented and evaluated – and have allowed a consistent, evidence-based approach to nutrition support. The protocol led to an improvement in patient’s oral intake, reduced the use of parenteral nutrition, improved team knowledge and dynamics and resulted in cost savings for the hospital. The Nutrition support pathway has been published in Clinical Nutrition.

Sarah’s work shows how utilising evidence-based practice can improve services. Sarah has now identified a further gap regarding use of enteral nutrition and is now undertaking a randomised control trial looking at enteral nutrition and stem cell transplant.









Shelley Wilkinson

Shelley was awarded the PEN Prize for 2016 for the project ‘Implementing Gestational Diabetes Mellitus (GDM) Guidelines into practice’.

This project arose from the fact that there are no Australian GDM nutrition practice guidelines and the observation that many Australian maternal health dietetic services providing GDM care lacked a systematic approach to their health care, potentially resulting in poorer outcomes for women and their babies.

Shelley’s prize winning project evaluated the implementation of a dietetic model of care based on American GDM Nutrition Practice Guidelines in an Australian tertiary Maternity Hospital. Following implementation of the guidelines significantly more women received best-practice care, with clinically-relevant changes seen in medication requirements (fewer women receiving pharmacologic treatment). Unfortunately due to a heavy clinical load (so many women with GDM entering the service), only a third of women in the new model of care received individual Medical Nutrition Therapy (MNT), which deviated from best practice (1:1 individualised MNT). This project illustrated the opportunities and challenges of conducting evidence based implementation research in routine clinical care.









Cystic Fibrosis PEN Working Party led by Nicole Saxby

This prize application focuses on the work of sub-group of 12 dietitians from the Cystic Fibrosis (CF) Interest Group, who, in December 2014, had content approved for publication on PEN. The six clinical practice questions developed, addressed and submitted to PEN by this sub-group centre on mineral management in CF populations

The CF group have been proactive in sharing their learning and experience with PEN. They  have developed step by step guides for each step of PEN the process which they are willing to share with other interest groups and  are looking forward to presenting their project at the 2015 DA conference in Perth. In addition, Nicole Saxby and other members of the CF IG have actively advocated for the benefits PEN at the 2014 & 2015 DA workshop in Brisbane and Perth and at the 2013 DNZ conference in Auckland. Nicole Saxby also serves on the PENAC advisory committee and has recently agreed to take on a mentoring role with the Eating Disorder interest group throughout their planned PEN journey.

Consisting of Nicole Saxby, Andrea Kench, Paul O’Neill, Kirrilee Waterhouse, Natalie Vanderhaak, Jodi Grunert, Denise Wong See, Sarah McKay, Caitlin Arnault, Julie Graves, Audrey Tierney, Susannah King.

Cystic Fibrosis PEN Working Party

Nutrition & Dietetics Emerging Researcher Award

This award aimed to encourage and acknowledge quality research by an emerging researcher. This award was presented to a first time lead author of an original research article published in DAAs official peer-reviewed journal, Nutrition & Dietetics. Recipients received a framed certificate, $1,000 and complimentary registration to the DA National Conference. Please note: Recipients do not directly apply for this award.

Eligible candidates for the award needed to meet all three criteria:

  1. First time lead author of an original research article that was published (or has been accepted for publication) in Nutrition & Dietetics.
  2. Current financial member of DA.
  3. Research track record of less than 5 years.
  • 2017 – Catherine McFarlane
  • 2016 – Li Kheng Chai
  • 2015 – Rachel Bacon
  • 2014 – Kelly Lambert
  • 2013 – Elizabeth Neale
  • 2012 – Aaron Di Guilmi
  • 2011 – Melinda Neve
  • 2010 – Therese O’Sullivan
  • 2009 – Susan Hart
  • 2008 – Linda Orazio

The Joan Woodhill Prize for Excellence in Research – Doctorate Prize (NSW members only)

The DA (NSW Branch) honoured Dr Joan Woodhill’s legacy by developing the Prize for Excellence in Research. This prize, awarded to newly graduated Doctorate dietitians reflects the high esteem that Dr Joan Woodhill is regarded. For more information, see the NSW Branch page.

Most Outstanding Student Prize

The top dietetics graduate from each University, offering a DA accredited dietetics program, will be awarded a free one year DA membership. Membership of DA is not required to be eligible for this prize.

Please note the name of this prize may vary between universities.

For universities offering multiple DA accredited dietetics courses, the respective Branch EDC may decide to award a certificate to the top student from each course at the university.  Please see your Branch EDC webpage for more information.

Quality in Primary Care Award

Category 1: Medium-Large Business Division

Optimum Intake

Category 2: Small Business Division

JustEat Nutrition