What are the national competency standards?

Our competency standards outline what is expected of a dietitian in Australia.

They describe the skills, care and diligence required by a competent dietitian.

These standards underpin our accreditation of dietetic education and assessment programs. The competency standards can be used as guidelines for dietitians wanting to become an Accredited Practising Dietitian (APD). Learn more about our APD credential

The standards

The standards list 55 criteria of observable or measurable actions under each of the 4 key roles.

These include:

  • practising professionally

  • positively influencing the health of individuals, groups and/or populations to achieve nutrition outcomes

  • applying critical thinking and integrates evidence into practice

  • collaborating with clients and stakeholders

Read the National Competency Standards.

Standards with implementation guide

This document extends the standards to include implementation advice that:

  • defines key terms used in the performance criteria

  • shows sample strategies to support the development of competence

  • comments on evidence of competency for entry-level dietitians

Read the standards with guide.

Updating the standards

The standards were first published in 1993.

They were reviewed in:

  • 1998

  • 2005

  • 2009

  • 2014

  • 2021

When we review the standards, we follow a revision process.

Our Code of Conduct sets out our expectations for the professional behaviour of Accredited Practising Dietitians (APDs).
If you're worried about the conduct of an Accredited Practising Dietitian (APD) or a member of Dietitians Australia, you can make a complaint to us.
Our Scope of Practice defines the role of an Accredited Practising Dietitian (APD) and supports decisions around practice through the use of a decision making framework.